Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Awards

Congratulations to the Alabama Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Team 2017-18 Award Winners:

Avery Downing won the Christina Davidson Academic Award – This award goes to the player who most exemplifies what it means to be a student athlete.

Kate Lang won the Jessica Staley Impact Award – Jessica was the first player to sign with the women’s program; this award goes to a new player who has had a positive impact on the team and the program.

Juice Young won the Leadership Award – This year’s leadership award went to one of the team captains, and to someone who is a leader on and off the court.

Babsi Gross won the Practice Award – This award goes to the student athlete who shows up to practice everyday giving it their all and lifting everyone’s play.

Selina Rausch won the Margaret Stran Hustle and Attitude
This year’s award winner is always positive, never complains, and raises everyone’s spirits on and off the court.

Mo Hastings and Avery Downing won the Most Improved Award
– The two award winners have grown drastically from the first practice of the season, and both have a great work ethic.

Rosie Lalonde won the Stephanie Wheeler Performance Award
– This award goes to the athlete who has a big impact every time they are on the court.

Juice Young won the Offensive Player of the Year Award – This award goes to the player who opposing defenses always have to account for, and always makes them pay if they lose track of her.

Rosie Lalonde won the Defensive Player of the Year Award – This year’s award winner plays with constant aggression and effort on the defensive end.