Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Awards

Congratulations to the Alabama Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Team 2017-18 Award Winners:

James Cook won the Academic by keeping his 4.0 GPA while working towards his PHD in Mechanical Enginering.

Sean Burns and James Cook won the Ford Burttram Captains Award. These men showed great leadership and represented our program with all that is expected of true captains.

Abraham Hausman-Weiss received the Ryan Hynes Iron Man Award for his work ethic in practice weight room and the class room.

Michael Auprince won the Jared Arambula Outstanding Offensive Player Award as he averaged 21 points per game.

DeQuel Robinson and Ryan Morich earned the Defensive Player of the Year Award as they showed physical toughness and a true understanding of how our defensive strategies needed to be performed.

Sean Burns and James Cook earned The Dirty Work Award this award by doing all the selfless work that is required to help their teammates succeed.

Sean Burns won the Jannik Blair Impact Award – This program wide award goes to the senior who has had the most impact on the program as a whole. Sean Burns has won two National Championships in Wheelchair Basketball and two in Tennis. Sean will Graduate with both an Under Graduate Degree and a Master’s Degree from the University. Sean went above and beyond what we want from our Student Athletes.

Jordan Bartley won the Darby McQeen Philanthropy Award:
– This program wide award goes to the Student Athlete that that has made the biggest impact with fund raising and financial contributions to our program. Jordan Bartley worked vigorously to help the program with the FAC funding as he is the President of our program. Jordan accomplished this task on top of a full class schedule and all the training that is required from our Athletes.